top of page

3 THINGS I LEARNED ABOUT LINE AND SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING WHILE IN JAPAN


While I was studying abroad in Japan last year, I really needed a way to communicate to my friends without using my phone service. After trying a few apps, I finally downloaded “Line”, a Japanese messaging app.

Much like Kik or Kaokao talk, the app worked over your data or WiFi. The shake features, which allowed you to locate nearby users with the shake of your phone, was more convenient than looking up the Facebook profile of friends while exchanging contact information. Line is one of the fastest growing messaging apps, with 1.7 million new users every day.

Aside from adding friends, I noticed that the local companies also had their own line accounts. I discovered this one day while shaking away with my coveted iPhone while in Korinbo 109, a local shopping mall in Kanazawa, Japan. Korinbo’s line account popped up and upon adding it, I began to receive promotional messages from the mall.

While this may have bothered me with other apps while in the states, I was stoked to have a way to find out about the stores events as offers while simply glancing down at my phone. Mobile marketing has been a really big hit in some Asian countries, and here’s a list of why I think it works universally:

1. Accessibility

Much like other millennial, I often have my smartphone with me. More often than I liked to admit, I am constantly scrolling trough news feeds and messages on my phone. Having a new message from a local business pop up in my notifications, alongside messages from friends, led to me reading more advertisements.

2.Trendy

I follow a few of my favorite brands on social media like Dennys or Starbucks. When brands use a social media platform that is often utilized by it’s consumer base, it gives them relevance among their fans. For example, Denny’s Tumblr account has gained a massive following due to hopping on the Tumblr wagon and firing off witty posts.

3. Incentives, Deals, Etc

I received tons of texts containing useful coupons while in Japan. These came in handy when I wanted 100 yen off of soda while going to karaoke with friends. Sending coupons online is a great way to bring customers into a business, and having those coupons readily delivered in a widely used app seems like a great way to market.


Recent Posts

No tags yet.
bottom of page